Clarification of Navaratri Dates and Time for 2020

The English day is from midnight to midnight. The Hindu day is from the sunrise to sunrise. Tithis, Nakshatra, Yoga, Karana can end at any time during the solar (English) day. Unlike English (solar) dates, they (Tithis, Nakshatra, Yoga, and Karana) do not really start at midnight and end at midnight.

If a Thithi starts after sunrise and ends before next sunrise, it is called Thithi Kshaya or loss of Thithi. On 21 October 2020, the sixth thithi begins at 5:37 (after sunrise) and ends at 4:09 (before sunrise) on 22 October 2020. This means that the sixth thithi lost. In other words, there is no sixth thithi. This actually applies to Navaratri 2020. That is why there are only nine days (inclusive of Vijay Dashmi) during Navaratri 2020.

In 2020, the thithis for Navaratri have been as follows (one thithi has been lost);

Saturday 17 Oct – First thithi

Sunday 18 Oct – Second thithi

Monday 19 Oct – Third thithi

Tuesday 20 Oct – Fourth thithi

Wednesday 21 Oc – Fifth thithi

Thursday 22 Oct – Seventh thithi

Friday 23 Oct – Eighth thithi

Saturday 24 Oct – Ninth thithi

Sunday 25 Oct – Tenth thithi (Vijay Dashmi)

On behalf of Priests Council
Dr Lokesh Ramnath Maharajh

To download Navaratri 2020 pdf click here.